Banner _Pubs.jpg

Recent Publications

Wednesday, November 23, 2016
2016
Fisheries Act, fish habitat
Wednesday, November 16, 2016
2016
Charities law, Canada Revenue Agency, free speech, public participation

In fall 2016, the federal government launched a Canada-wide consultation with charities and the public on the rules under which charities should be allowed to speak out in Canadian society....

Wednesday, November 9, 2016
2016
Navigation Protection Act

In 2015, the mandate letters for both the Minister of Transport and...

Friday, October 28, 2016
2016
Indigenous law, water
Friday, September 30, 2016
2016
Oil tankers, Pacific coast

Following commitments by Canada's federal government to formalize a moratorium on oil tankers along the Pacific north coast, Transport Canada initiated a public engagement process to invite...

Thursday, August 25, 2016
2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
2016
Oceans Act, Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
2016
Environmental Assessment

In June 2016, the federal Minister of Environment and Climate Change announced that she would establish an independent expert panel to review Canada’s environmental assessment (EA) processes...

Monday, June 27, 2016
2016
Enbridge Northern Gateway Pipeline Extension Request

With the federal approval for the Enbridge Northern Gateway pipelines and tankers project set to expire at the end of 2016, the company requested a three-year extension on its certificate from the...

Monday, June 27, 2016
2016
Cumulative Effects

The BC government is developing a strategy to better assess and manage the cumulative ecological and social effects of past, present and future developments.

West Coast is very supportive...

Tuesday, May 31, 2016
2016
Enbridge Northern Gateway Pipeline Extension Request
Monday, May 30, 2016
2016
Cumulative Effects
Monday, May 16, 2016
2016

The House of Commons Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development is conducting a study on  federal protected areas, looking at  how the full range of federal protected...

Monday, May 9, 2016
2016
Marine Protected Areas, oil tanker ban, marine protection in BC
 
Life on BC’s north coast revolves around the marine environment. Culture, economy, stewardship - the ocean plays a pivotal role in the region’s web of community,...