Banner _Pubs.jpg

Recent Publications

Thursday, August 25, 2016
2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
2016
Oceans Act, Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
2016
Environmental Assessment

In June 2016, the federal Minister of Environment and Climate Change announced that she would establish an independent expert panel to review Canada’s environmental assessment (EA) processes...

Monday, June 27, 2016
2016
Enbridge Northern Gateway Pipeline Extension Request

With the federal approval for the Enbridge Northern Gateway pipelines and tankers project set to expire at the end of 2016, the company requested a three-year extension on its certificate from the...

Monday, June 27, 2016
2016
Cumulative Effects

The BC government is developing a strategy to better assess and manage the cumulative ecological and social effects of past, present and future developments.

West Coast is very supportive...

Tuesday, May 31, 2016
2016
Enbridge Northern Gateway Pipeline Extension Request
Monday, May 30, 2016
2016
Cumulative Effects
Monday, May 16, 2016
2016

The House of Commons Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development is conducting a study on  federal protected areas, looking at  how the full range of federal protected...

Monday, May 9, 2016
2016
Marine Protected Areas, oil tanker ban, marine protection in BC
 
Life on BC’s north coast revolves around the marine environment. Culture, economy, stewardship - the ocean plays a pivotal role in the region’s web of community,...
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
2016
Tar sands pipelines and climate change

This open letter, endorsed by over 40 Canadian organizations representing hundreds of thousands of people, calls on Prime Minister Justin Trudeau and Cabinet Ministers to reject the pressure to...

Thursday, March 24, 2016
2016
Fisheries Act reform
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
2016
BC Climate Leadership Team

West Coast Environmental Law's submissions to the BC Ministry of Environment in response to the province's Climate Leadership Team report and the Ministry's public consultation....

Friday, January 29, 2016
2015
Environmental Assessment

On December 22nd, West Coast Environmental Law and our allies in environmental assessment reform sent a letter to Catherine McKenna, Canada's new Minister of Environment and Climate Change,...

Wednesday, January 13, 2016
North coast tanker ban